welcome banner

July 1-4, 2024

International Conference on Research in Air Transportation

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

ICRAT 2024 Sponsors:

International Conference on Research in Air Transportation

ICRAT is an established event in Air Transportation Research with a global outreach, alternating yearly with the USA/Europe Air Traffic Management (ATM) Research and Development (R&D) Seminar. ICRAT is a forum particularly encouraging young researchers (and their mentors) within air transportation to share their work, expand their professional network, practice scientific dissemination, gain new inspiration, and discover the new challenges confronting society and the market to adopt mobility in a time of critical ecological debate.

Papers should clearly state the objectives, approach, methodology and results of the research, and should draw conclusions that demonstrate the interest of the work.

Submissions by researchers are solicited on a wide range of topics describing theoretical results and innovative applications in air transportation including but not limited to the following conference topics:

ICRAT Core Topics

Advanced modeling and design methodologies

Airline operations and quality of service

Airport & Heliport design, management and operations

Air transportation governance, economics and policy

Air transportation system performance measurement and management

Automation strategies and their application

Decision support systems and human-machine collaboration

Environment and energy efficiency, climate change and impact

Information management, enhanced communication, surveillance and navigation

Integration of high altitude and commercial space activities into air traffic management

Network management, traffic flow optimization, system resilience and crisis management

Drones and highly automated air vehicle integration

Safety, human performance and security

Socio-technical complexity and applications of data science in aviation

Trajectory optimization, trajectory and separation management

Standards development and regulation


Following the success of its ten previous editions, ICRAT has now been established as a mainstream biennial event in Air Transport Research, alternating with the USA/Europe Air Traffic Management (ATM) Research and Development (R&D) Seminar. ICRAT is an excellent forum for young researchers within air transportation to share their work, expand their professional network, and gain new knowledge and inspiration.

ICRAT 2022, the tenth edition, was held fully in-person at the University of South Florida in Tampa, Florida, USA, and included tutorials, presentations, and a forum for PhD students. These students were able to present their research problems and get advice from established scientists in the field during a doctoral symposium. In addition, there were world class keynote speakers, senior researchers that virtually sat on several panels that were able to provide constructive feedback on the papers presented during the conference.

Organized as fully in-person participation for this year's edition in Singapore, tutorials will additionally be offered to PhD students to learn from experts about useful scientific techniques and ATM related use cases.

Air Traffic Management (ATM) is defined in the ICAO ATM Global Concept document as "the dynamic, integrated management of air traffic and airspace - safely, economically, and efficiently - through the provision of facilities and seamless services in collaboration with all parties". ATM therefore encompasses airspace organization and management, flow and capacity management and en-route, terminal and airport air traffic control.


peer reviewed papers & presentations


Industry experts, students, and enthusiasts


Previous editions of ICRAT

2024 ICRAT Conference Committee

Eric Neiderman

U.S. General Conference Chair

Federal Aviation Administration

Marc Bourgois

Europe General Conference Chair


Dave Lovell

U.S. Program Chair

University of Maryland

Hartmut Fricke

Europe Program Chair

Technische Universität Dresden

Yu Zhang

Doctoral Chair

University of South Florida

Michael Schultz

Tutorial Chair

Universität der Bundeswehr München

Sameer Alam

Local Arrangements Chair

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Program Committee

  • Sameer Alam, Nanyang Technological University
  • Kenneth Allendoerfer, Federal Aviation Administration
  • Hamsa Balakrishnan, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Tatjana Bolic, University of Westminster
  • Marc Bourgois, Eurocontrol
  • Lorenzo Castelli, University of Trieste
  • Andrew Churchill, Walmart
  • Daniel Delahaye, ENAC
  • Luis Delgado, University of Westminster
  • Nicolas Durand, DSNA
  • Joost Ellerbroek, Delft University of Technology
  • Alexander Estes, University of Maryland
  • Hartmut Fricke, TU Dresden, Germany
  • Tara Gibson, FAA
  • Bert Hackney, Metron Aviation
  • Carla Hackworth, Federal Aviation Administration
  • Mark Hansen, University of California, Berkeley
  • Peter Hecker, TU Braunschweig, Institute of flight Guidance
  • Robert Hoffman, Metron Aviation
  • Gokhan Inalhan, Cranfield University, School of Aerospace, Transport   Manufacturing
  • Kurtulus Izzetoglu, Drexel University
  • James Jones, MIT Lincoln Laboratory
  • Radosav Jovanovic, University of Belgrade - Faculty of Transport and Traffic Engineering
  • Amy Kim, The University of British Columbia
  • Max Li, University of Michigan
  • Lishuai Li, City University of Hong Kong
  • Ang Li, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
  • Annie Liang, RMIT University
  • Javier Lopez, Boeing
  • David Lovell, University of Maryland
  • Guglielmo Lulli, LUMS
  • Amber McNair, The Ohio State University
  • Lothar Meyer, LFV
  • Max Mulder, Delft University of Technology
  • José Luis Muñoz, aslogic
  • Eric Neiderman, FAA
  • Joseph Post, University of South Florida
  • Xavier Prats, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya
  • Cheryl Quinn, NASA
  • Jose J. Ramasco, IFISC (CSIC-UIB)
  • Andrea Ranieri, Indra
  • Megan Ryerson, University of Pennsylvania
  • Dirk Schaefer, EUROCONTROL
  • Michael Schultz, Bundeswehr University Munich
  • Sherri Shearon, FAA
  • Lance Sherry, George Mason University
  • John Shortle, George Mason University
  • Manuel Fernando Soler, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
  • Banavar Sridhar, NASA
  • Sybert Stroeve, National Aerospace Laboratory NLR
  • Akbar Sultan, NASA
  • Dengfeng Sun, Purdue University
  • Xiaoqian Sun, Beihang University
  • Pernilla Ulfvengren, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Adan Vela, University of Central Florida
  • Thomas Vossen, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Sebastian Wandelt, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
  • Yanjun Wang, Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • Peng Wei, George Washington University
  • Seth Young, The Ohio State University
  • Yu Zhang, University of South Florida

2024 Venue